A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas Elaine Howlin Bookstagram

Summer of Romantasy TBR | Fantasy Romance Readathon

The Summer of Romantasy Readathon runs from June 1st to July 31st 2024 hosted and created by @toribetweenpages. You can get all the information you need to take part here.

I was so excited when I discovered this readathon. It’s just what I need to get excited about reading again. There are a whopping 35 prompts which I have no intention of reading individual books for. Luckily you can combine them and have two months to complete the readathon.

Summer of Romantasy Instagram

There’s a good range in the prompts even for things you don’t often see like “friends to lovers” and “sci-fi”. Off the top of my head, I can think of only one “friends to lovers” romantasy book maybe. It seems to be dominated by “enemies to lovers” books. If you know any please let me know.

I’ve picked out 10 books from my library that should work for some of the prompts. I’m very much a mood reader so this isn’t set in stone. I’ll be very happy if I manage to read at least five books over the next two months. I got the tropes and tags for these books from romance.io. A wonderful resource for romance readers. The website has some issues but as it’s run by one woman I think it’s amazing.

  • The Ashes and the Star-Cursed King by Carissa Broadbent – sword on the cover, hate to love, marriage of convenience
  • Daughter of No Worlds by Carissa Broadbent – sword on the cover, forced proximity, friends to lovers, slow burn
  • A Soul of Ash and Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout – a pretty cover, on my TBR
  • The Crown of Oaths and Curses by J. Bree – enemies to lovers, fated mates, forced proximity, first in a series
  • Powerless by Lauren Roberts – sword on the cover, hate to love, forbidden love, slow burn
  • That Time I Got Drunk and Saved a Demon by Kimberly Lemming – forced proximity
  • Kingdom of Blood and Salt by Alexis Calder – sword on the cover, pretty cover, hate to love
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – hate to love, chunky
  • Peaches and Honey R. Raeta – standalone, pretty cover, slow burn
  • White Horse Black Nights by Evie Macreau – retelling, hate to love, fairy-tale

I’m sure once I start reading I’ll discover that these books will fit more of the prompts but it can be hard to know what unread books will work.

I recommend checking out this video from Words and Roses on YouTube if you’d like some more ideas for Romantasy books.

So, that’s my plan for the Summer of Romantasy Readathon. I’m so excited to read these books. This genre is perfect for summer reading but, of course, I will likely read some other books as well. Two months is a long time to focus on just one genre when there are so many books to enjoy.

Are you taking part in any readathons this season?

Thank you so much for joining me today.

Lots of love,

Elaine

Connect with Me

5 thoughts on “Summer of Romantasy TBR | Fantasy Romance Readathon

  1. this looks interesting, even though romance is typically not a genre I read often. I am taking part in the PopSugar Reading Challenge again this year. I might give romantasy a try.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.